a search for delicious

I learned what “delicious” meant in 4th grade when I could barely speak English, just a mere 6 months in the U.S. from Korea.  I learned it from a book we had to read in English class:  The Search for Delicious.  To me, that was a difficult word, but an awesome one – just the sound of it: delicious. Ah.  The “l” wasn’t the starting letter, and the consonant “d” followed by the vowel “e”, made it possible for me to pronounce properly the “del” followed by “-icious” which I could say without much trouble.  And, I knew it must be a difficult word to spell since the latter part of the word sounded as if it would have an “s-h” combination but didn’t… and I knew it.  I fell in love with the word.

I don’t remember the exact details of The Search for Delicious‘s storyline.  I remember a boy who needed to find how to define Delicious… and somehow, if he does, the kingdom would be restored and saved from a civil war. Not to spoil the book, but, he finds Delicious.

I guess that’s what I want to do here: I want to be on a search for “Delicious”.  As the new Director of Curriculum at GSIS, I have been learning that there are amazingly delicious tales, perspectives, ideas and brilliance within this school that have yet to be discovered.  So, here is my quest: to find the place where #KnightsROK educators can come and share.  Share what? Well, anything worth sharing with the community, of course; maybe their “del”s or “-icious” moments and the victories won in the battlefields of __ (fill in the blank).

We kickoff the blog with our awesome PL leaders who are leading our April 3rd OutdoorEd exploration for the whole staff.  Take a look at the passion for OutdoorEd from our very own Matt Freeman, Mei-Lyn Freeman, Karen Francois and Saetbyul Mun.

We’re excited… for of course April 3rd, but for the possibilities of where else our tales may lead us.  Come join me on the journey to find our own “Delicious”… and the happily ever after.

6 thoughts on “a search for delicious

Add yours

  1. We all have a story worth telling, and it’s been invigorating to learn about some of “us” this year. I’d love to join in your search for more “delicious” tales to taste more of what makes us who we are – a magnificent community! (from one of my favorite books, “The Most Magnificent Thing”)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The word delicious in Turkish is lezzetli. Once I accidentally used the word in a rather odd situation. I had a good taxi ride in Izmir, Turkey, which is a novelty to say the least and so I wanted to compliment the driver. I paid and then said “Cok lezzetli!” which directly translate to “Very delicious” when I meant to say “Cok guzel!” which in the situation would mean “Wonderful job!” The driver simply looked at me and smiled and thanked me. The moral being that sometimes we say something the wrong way, but our intention is clear.

    Like

    1. Hahaha, yes – but did you miss that I said it perfectly?! 😉 JK.

      Thank you for the story, TS. I hope that as GSIS continues growing into a shining community, we will always trust each other’s best intentions to know that if something is ‘mispronounced’, we will give the person the benefit of the doubt first in order to be empowering coaches to one another rather than cynical critics. That’s how we know we’ll make it, eh?

      I’d love to hear what other schools are doing, too, to garner a supportive community!

      Like

  3. Delicious moments and the victories won in the battlefields of mindset and inner sabotage! Trust in yourself and others. Love this Liz. Awesome comments from other too. Keep sharing the love as it has been a wonderful read and fabulous motivation for others on their journey.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I love this post so much it made me cry! Thanks for sharing Liz! I am ready to jump on board and Search for Delicious with all of you. What a great idea to start a blog series to share the amazing things happening at your school while celebrating the knowledge of your outstanding staff. I’ve read all these posts and I’m so inspired…it’s true, #KnightsROK!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑